Things I Have Learned About Myself and Others

during quarantine

Violet DeTorres
3 min readMay 25, 2020
Best.Photography

“These uncertain times”

I hear this a lot, on the radio, TV, streaming services. However, it has put me in a particular mindset, the mindset of:

“Give us this day our daily bread”

Most people recognize this verse, its from the Lord’s Prayer. This is the Catholic version:

Our Father, Who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name; Thy kingdom come; Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

The Protestant version ends with ‘for Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory for ever amen.

I’ve always pretty much been a homebody, only going out for things that I needed. Yes, its true, I don’t go shopping at Ross or TJ Maxx. Over this time I’ve learned to adjust my behavior patterns, because:

  1. I don’t want to get infected by those who aren’t behaving in a responsible manner.
  2. I don’t want to infect others should I be asymptomtatic.
  3. Repeat one and two, please.

--

--

Violet DeTorres

The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House // " When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time" --Maya Angelou